14
Sep
08

Newcomer to Japan

 

A conversation between a newcomer and her Japanese guide.

A: ごめん じゅださい。(Hello.)

B: ああ スミスですか。おまち おりました。(Oh, Ms. Smith? I’ve been waiting for you.)

 

A: きょおは どおも おいそがしい ところお ありがとおございます。(Thank you for taking the time for me when you are so busy.)

 

B: どおいたしまして。おやすい ごよお です。でわ すご でかけましょお。(Don’t mention it. Shall we get going?)

 

A: 私はまだ右も左もわかりませんからよろしく おねがい いたします。(I’m a total stranger here. I can’t even tell right from left, and would appreciate it if you could take me around.)

 

B: はい、かしこまりました。ゆうびんきょくに ごよお が あると おっしゃいましたね。(Sure. You said you wanted to go the post office, didn’t you?)

 

A: ええ、そお なん です。 (Yes, that’s right.)


1 Response to “Newcomer to Japan”


  1. 1 iidaatsushi
    September 14, 2008 at 3:50 am

    Sarah

    Nice try!! I like the way you learn.

    Let me correct sentences.

    ごめん じゅださい。
    (→ごめんください)

    B: ああ スミスですか。おまち おりました。
    (→おまちしておりました。)

    A: きょおは どおも おいそがしい ところお ありがとおございます。
    (→きょうは、どうも おいそがしい ところを ありがとうございます。)

    B: どおいたしまして。おやすい ごよお です。でわ すご でかけましょお。
    (→どういたしまして。おやすいごようです。では、すぐ でかけましょう。)

    A: 私はまだ右も左もわかりませんからよろしく おねがい いたします。

    B: はい、かしこまりました。ゆうびんきょくに ごよお が あると おっしゃいましたね。
    (→ ゆうびんきょくに、ごようがあると おっしゃっていましたね)

    A: ええ、そお なん です。
    (→ええ、そうなんです)

    Does it make sense to you, Sarah?


Leave a comment